Complete Story


Industry Leaders Wanted!

One of the highlights of Printing Week events is recognizing those in the graphic arts industry who have made a notable contribution not only in our industry, but also to their communities. Each of our regions searches for, nominates and gives a prestigious award to a deserving recipient.

It is time to set our sights on next year’s recipients. Each region is now accepting nominations for their respective awards. Who do you think stands out among the rest? Nominate him/her or the company for a deserving recognition. The criteria, mailing information and deadlines are listed below.

We will accept nominations until December 13th, 2019.

North — Hall of Distinction
Each year Graphic Media Alliance, in collaboration with the Graphic Arts Council of Cleveland, recognizes outstanding individuals of the Ohio graphic arts community who have given of their time and talents to help further the goals of the Graphic Arts Community by honoring them with membership in the Hall of Distinction.  These individuals represent the best the industry has to offer and are selected based on the following criteria:

Hall of Distinction Nomination Form

Nominations are now being accepted for the Hall of Distinction Award. Please explain why you believe this person should be recognized and send your nominations to:

Jim Cunningham
Graphic Media Alliance
P.O. Box 819
Westerville, Ohio 43086 

If you have any questions, contact Lisa Udowski, at 440.822.7997 or

Central — Franklinton Award
In the early 1970s, the Printing Industry of Central Ohio and the Columbus Club of Printing House Craftsmen created the Franklinton Award to be presented to individuals or groups who have made outstanding public contributions to the Central Ohio community. The first award, named in honor of Benjamin Franklin, the patron figure of the American printing industry, was awarded in 1974.

In 2008, the Graphic Media Alliance began presenting this prestigious award to a member of the industry who had made significant contributions to our central Ohio graphic arts community as opposed to a community leader/contributor.

The Franklinton Award is presented to a person who:

Franklinton Nomination Form

Nominations for the 2018 Franklinton Award are now being accepted. Please take a few minutes to think of those in the industry deserving of this award and send your nominations to Jim Cunningham:

Jim Cunningham
Graphic Media Alliance
P.O. Box 819
Westerville, Ohio 43086

If you have any questions, contact Jim Cunningham at 614.794.2300 or

South — Printer of the Year and the Maxwell Award
Since 1963, the Southern Region Printing Week Council, in collaboration with the Cincinnati Litho Club has recognized a Printer of the Year. The nominee should be actively engaged in any field of the graphic arts industry, have at least 15 years experience and have distinguished himself/herself by their contributions to the industry. Additionally, the nominee should be involved in community and/or civic affairs and, if selected, be able to attend all functions during Printing Week.

The Maxwell Award is given to a graphic arts organization that has distinguished itself in the manner of the city’s first printer, William Maxwell. The organization should be forward thinking, a market leader, and recognizable for its contributions to the industry.

The Council is accepting nominations for these 2020 awards. Please send nominations to the Southern Region Printing Week Council explaining why you believe this person and/or company should be recognized.

Send your nominations to:
Southern Region Printing Week Council
c/o Jim Cunningham
Graphic Media Alliance
P.O. Box 819
Westerville, Ohio 43086-0819

If you have any questions, contact Rachel Rossman at 614.794.2300 or

Contact your Business Development Director or the Central office for an application for any of these awards.

Printer-Friendly Version